FacebookTwitter
Green Bay's Largest Independent Bookstore.
Twelve Thousand New & Used Books.
Imagine Infinitely. Shop Locally.
EventsEvents

Small Business Saturday

Saturday, November 25
All Day at The Reader's Loft

Small Business Saturday

Miranda Paul, Michael Leannah, Max Garland & Gavin Schmitt 

On Small Business Saturday® in 2016, 112 million shoppers 
showed their love for their favorite spots, and spent a 
reported $15.4 billion at small businesses like The Reader’s Loft.

*Source: American Express

 

 Reader’s Loft will open its doors with four Wisconsin authors whose work continues to enlighten and shape our communities. 

      Miranda Paul and Michael Leannah will kick things off with back to back story time readings of their latest picture books for children. Miranda Paul is tireless in her pursuit to affect children’s curiosity through words and will be reading one of her new books, The Great Pasta Escape (August 2017). This book is a funny story about a diverse group of pasta living together in a pasta factory. Conflict arises when the pasta figure out the real consequence of making it onto the shelves of  grocery stores and what happens once selected by shoppers. This book is a hilarious story about teamwork!

              Michael Leannah is the author of Something for Everyone: Memories of Lauerman Brothers Department Store (May, 2013) and Most People (August 2017). Most People was a New York Times noted picture book illustrating empathy that is a courageous, constructive response to the dystopian world of the news media. The story is meant to reassure children that most people are not the sum of what we see in the media.

              The afternoon will continue with a poetry reading from Max Garland, Wisconsin Poet Laureate 2013-2014.  The World We Used for It (October 2017) is a book of Wisconsin poetry that honors the grit of creatures both animal and human, bearing up in the face of mounting odds against them. He suggests that imagination itself requires grit, to be called upon when the more spectacular angels are otherwise occupied.  Max currently lives in Eau Claire, Wisconsin.

              The Small Business Saturday celebration will conclude with a reading from local true crime historian Gavin Schmitt.  Gavin is a life-long Fox Cities native. He is the author of six books on local history and true crime, and has been described as an excellent researcher and the go-to expert on organized crime in Wisconsin and surrounding areas. Gavin has turned his magnifying glass on the Fox Valley through his new book, Fox Cities Murder and Mayhem (November 2017). 

              In addition to reading events Miranda Paul, Michael Leannah, Max Garland, and Gavin Schmitt will be engaging with shoppers with suggestions from their personal list of favorite titles for the gift giving season. Guests will receive a 20% discount off titles written by and/or suggested by the authors! And, as always, the Reader’s Loft staff will be available offering fun giveaways, treats and suggestions of their very own.

 

Schedule of events:

  11am – 1pm: Miranda Paul and Michael Leannah story time for kids!

   2pm – 3pm: Max Garland, Wisconsin Poet Laureate 2013-2014

   3:30 pm – 4:30 pm: Gavin Schmitt, local true crime historian

 Here’s what happens when you “shop local.”

1. More of your money will be kept in your local economy

For every $100 you spend at locally owned businesses, $68 will stay in the community. What happens when you spend that same $100 at a national chain? Only $43 stays in the community.*

2. You embrace what makes your community unique

You wouldn’t want your house to look like everyone else’s in the U.S. So why would you want your community to look that way?

3. You create local jobs

Local businesses are better at creating higher-paying jobs for your neighbors. When you shop locally, you help create jobs for teachers, firemen, police officers, and many other essential professions.

4. You help the environment

Buying from a locally owned business conserves energy and resources in the form of less fuel for transportation and less packaging.

5. You nurture community

Local business owners know you, and you know them. Studies have shown that local businesses donate to community causes at more than twice the rate of chains.

6. You conserve your tax dollars

Shopping in a local business district means less infrastructure, less maintenance, and more money available to beautify your community. Also, spending locally instead of online ensures that your sales taxes are reinvested where they belong— in your community!

7. You create more choice

Locally owned businesses pick the items and products they sell based on what they know you like and want. Local businesses carry a wid­er array of unique products because they buy for their own individual markets.

8. You took advantage of their expertise

You are their friends and neighbors, and locally owned businesses have a vested interest in knowing how to serve you. They’re passionate about what they do. Why not take advantage of it?

9. You invested in entrepreneurship

Creativity and entrepreneurship are what the American economy is founded upon. Nurturing local business en­sures a strong community.

10. You made your community a destination

The more interesting and unique you community, the more we will attract new neighbors, visitors and guests. This benefits everyone!

*Source: Civic Economics – Andersonville Study of Retail Economics.

 

 


The Girl in the Tangerine Scarf

Tuesday, December 12
6:00 PM at The Reader's Loft Bookstore

The Girl in the Tangerine Scarf

A Reader's Loft Book Club Meeting

Syrian immigrant Khadra Shamy is growing up in a devout, tightly knit Muslim family in 1970s Indiana, at the crossroads of bad polyester and Islamic dress codes. Along with her brother Eyad and her African-American friends, Hakim and Hanifa, she bikes the Indianapolis streets exploring the fault-lines between “Muslim” and “American.”

When her picture-perfect marriage goes sour, Khadra flees to Syria and learns how to pray again. On returning to America she works in an eastern state — taking care to stay away from Indiana, where the murder of her friend Tayiba’s sister by Klan violence years before still haunts her. But when her job sends her to cover a national Islamic conference in Indianapolis, she’s back on familiar ground: Attending a concert by her brother’s interfaith band The Clash of Civilizations, dodging questions from the “aunties” and “uncles,” and running into the recently divorced Hakim everywhere.

Beautifully written and featuring an exuberant cast of characters, The Girl in the Tangerine Scarf charts the spiritual and social landscape of Muslims in middle America, from five daily prayers to the Indy 500 car race. It is a riveting debut from an important new voice.

The Other Einstein

Tuesday, January 9
6:00 PM at The Reader's Loft Bookstore

The Other Einstein

A Reader's Loft Book Club Meeting 

In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

Homegoing

Tuesday, February 13
6:00 PM at The Reader's Loft Bookstore

Homegoing

A Reader's Loft Book Club Meeting

The unforgettable New York Times best seller begins with the story of two half-sisters, separated by forces beyond their control: one sold into slavery, the other married to a British slaver. Written with tremendous sweep and power, Homegoing traces the generations of family who follow, as their destinies lead them through two continents and three hundred years of history, each life indeliably drawn, as the legacy of slavery is fully revealed in light of the present day.

 Effia and Esi are born into different villages in eighteenth-century Ghana. Effia is married off to an Englishman and lives in comfort in the palatial rooms of Cape Coast Castle. Unbeknownst to Effia, her sister, Esi, is imprisoned beneath her in the castle’s dungeons, sold with thousands of others into the Gold Coast’s booming slave trade, and shipped off to America, where her children and grandchildren will be raised in slavery. One thread of Homegoing follows Effia’s descendants through centuries of warfare in Ghana, as the Fante and Asante nations wrestle with the slave trade and British colonization. The other thread follows Esi and her children into America. From the plantations of the South to the Civil War and the Great Migration, from the coal mines of Pratt City, Alabama, to the jazz clubs and dope houses of twentieth-century Harlem, right up through the present day, Homegoing makes history visceral, and captures, with singular and stunning immediacy, how the memory of captivity came to be inscribed in the soul of a nation.

                             

 

 

HOME | EVENTS | PHOTO GALLERY | STAFF REVIEWS | BEST SELLERS | BOOK GROUPS | SERVICES | ABOUT | CONTACT